Pakistan (Islamic Republic of Pakistan)
Pakistan Flag (Islamic Republic of Pakistan)

Official Name                                                                  Islamic Republic of Pakistan

Father of the Nation                                                      Quaid-i-Azam Muhammad Ali Jinnah (1876-1948)
National Poet                                                                  Allama Muhammad Iqbal (1877-1938)
Head of the State/ President                                       Dr. Arif Alvi
Prime Minister /Head of Government                       Mian Shahbaaz Shraif
Capital                                                                              Islamabad  
Total Area                                                                        7961,968 Sq. km. 
Punjab                                                                              205,344 Sq. km. 
Sindh                                                                                140,914  Sq. km.
N.W.F.P (KPK)                                                                  74,521 Sq. km.
Balochistan                                                                      347,190 Sq. km. 
Federally Administered Tribal Areas                            27,220 Sq. km. 
Islamabad (Capital)                                                          906 Sq. km.
Gilgit-Baltistan                                                                 72,496 Sq. km
Azad Jammu & Kashmir                                                  13,297 Sq. km
Population                                                                       197 million (estimated 2012)
Pakistan is divided into four provinces Punjab, Sindh, (KPK) and Baluchistan. The tribal belt adjoining Khyber Pakhtunkhwa is managed by the Federal Government and is named FATA i.e., Federally Administered Tribal Areas. Azad Kashmir and Gilgit-Baltistan have their own respective political and administrative machinery, yet certain of their subjects are taken care of by the Federal Government. Provinces of Pakistan are further divided into Districts
Religion                                                                               95% Muslims, 5% others.
Currency                                                                              Pak. Rupee.
Imports                                                                   Industrial equipment, chemicals, vehicles, steel, iron ore,  petroleum, edible oil, pulses, tea.
Exports                                                                               Cotton, textile goods, rice, leather items  carpets, sports goods, handi-crafts, fish and fish prep. and fruit
Languages                                                                           Urdu (National)  and English (Official)
Literacy rate                                                                       53%
Government                                                                       Parliamentary form
National Assembly building Pakistan (Islamic Republic of Pakistan)
National Assembly building Pakistan (Islamic Republic of Pakistan)

Parliament Pakistan’s National Assembly building in Islamabad. The building was inaugurated on on the 28th of May 1986. Parliament consists of two Houses , the Senate (Upper House) and the National Assembly (Lower House).  

The Senate is a permanent legislative body and symbolizes a process of continuity in the national affairs. It consists of 100 members. The four Provincial Assemblies, Federally Administered Tribal Areas and Federal Capital form its electoral college.
The National Assembly has a total membership of 342 elected through adult suffrage (272 general seats, 60 women seats and 10 non-Muslim seats).
Pakistan National Flag  
Dark green with a white vertical bar, a white crescent and a five-pointed star in the middle. The Flag symbolizes Pakistan’s profound commitment to Islam, the Islamic world and the rights of religious minorities. (For more details click here)
National Anthem                                                            Approved in August, 1954 
 Verses Composed by:                                                    Abdul Asar Hafeez Jullundhri 
 Tune Composed by:                                                      Ahmed G. Chagla 
 Duration                                                                        80 second
7 thoughts on “Pakistan (Islamic Republic of Pakistan)”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *