Pind Dadan Khan Beautiful historic place. It is a subdivision of Jhelum District. This pind (from Punjabi word for village), is named after Nawab Dadan Khan, the Muslim Governor of Lahore in the 18th century. It was headquarter at the town of Pind Dadan Khan located on the bank of River Jhelum, about 22 kilometer from the M2 motorway. Pind Dadan Khan Beautiful historic place.

History of Pind Dadan Khan Beautiful historic place

The Imperial Gazetteer of India, compiled over a century ago during British rule, describes the tehsil as follows: Pind Dadan Khan Tahsil. Southern subdivision and tahsil of Jhelum District. It is bounded on the south-east by the Jhelum River, and is traversed in its northern portion by the Salt Range. The hills consist of two roughly parallel ranges about 6 miles apart, with a strip of richly cultivated and fairly level uplands between. The southern slopes of the hills are steep and barren.


The rest of the tehsil consists of a belt of alluvial plain, a portion of which is much affected by saline deposits. The population in 1901 was 170,130, compared with 173,071 in 1891. It contains the town of Pind Dadn Khan (population, 13,770), the head-quarters; and 207 villages. The land revenue and cesses in 1903-4 amounted to 2.8 lakhs.


KATAS and MALOT are places of considerable archaeological interest, the village of Jalalpur possesses historical importance, and the Mayo mine at Khewra is one of the chief sources of the supply of salt in India.
Khewara Salt Mines Pind Dadan Khan Beautiful historic place
Khewara Salt Mines Pind Dadan Khan Tehsil

Khewra Salt Mines

The area is well known for Khewra Salt Mines, Asia’s largest salt mine, in use for over 2000 years, and which features an underground mosque. The area has a long history going back to the time of Alexander the Great invasion. The small town of Jalalpur Sharif is located in Pind Dadan Khan and is said to be where Alexander the Great famous horse, Bucephalus is buried.


The major tribes and clans in the tehsil are Arain, Raja, jutt punjhatha(Khandoha Jutt)(punjdata)Bharat, Chohan, Chadhar, Gujjars, Jalaps, Janjua Rajput,((Tarrar)) Awan, Bhatti, Jat (mainly Gondal Jat, Cheema Jat, waseer jat, zardan jat), Khokhars, Lilla Tribe, Makhdoom, Mekan, Minhas, Mughal, Ranjha, Phaphra, Qureshi, Waraich, and Toor.

Union Consils

The tehsil is administratively subdivided into 16 Union Councils, these are:
Ahmedabad, Chak Shadi, Daulatpur, Dharyala Jalap, Golepur, Sodi Gujjar, Dhudi Phapra, Kaslian,Haranpur, Kot Phaphra, Jalalpur Sharif, Kandwal, Khewra-I,Khewra-II, Lilla, P.D.Khan, Pindi Saidpur, Sauwal, Toba, Bheelowal, sherpur

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *